Okay ya’ll. I’m going to be completely honest. This is my first time in Seville, we didn’t get here until after 8pm, and I am 100%. Blown. Away. It is so freaking cool here, my words are failing.

image

This is the door to our hotel. Seriously. The DOOR.

We were told this hotel was in the old Jewish neighborhood. That’s not entirely accurate – it IS the old Jewish neighborhood. Seriously, it’s not a hotel so much as a giant complex of converted old houses, compete with courtyards and even the old streets still in place. To get to our room from the front lobby, you go through a secret tunnel that could be used for escaping attacks back in the day. I know I’m using a lot of caps here, but let me repeat: we get to our hotel room through a SECRET. TUNNEL. If you don’t think that’s just the coolest thing in the world, you have no soul. I’ll take pictures of it tomorrow. When we saw it, our jaws literally dropped!

image

We settled in, giggling maniacally at our luck, and then headed out to explore!

image

The first thing we wanted to see was the Giralda Tower – look familiar?? The one here is substantially bigger, of course, and if you look very closely at the photo, you can see the other major difference: bats! A colony of bats lives in the tower and comes swooping out at night, squeaking and eating bugs. It’s pretty adorable, actually!

image

The tower is only one part of a giant cathedral. I can’t wait until it opens tomorrow and we can go inside!

image

We also found a little garden…

image

And plenty of amazing architecture.

Don’t tell Paris this, but so far I think Seville is prettier!

Finally, our comments winner from yesterday’s posts is…Madison S! Congrats! I’m super excited to see everyone chiming back in today too – guess you all are excited to be in Spain as well!

